Me and My Blog

A brief introduction about myself. My name is Charlotte and I’m a 20 year old university student from England studying journalism. Like most people I dream of escaping the everyday routine for a more exciting and colourful life. After taking my first gap year I promised myself I’d do just that. If there was a place I wanted to go, I’d go there. If there was something I wanted to do I’d do it. Life is full of regrets and I want to have as few as possible

My first gap year and my first experience of the big wide world took my best friend and I to the idyllic and characteristic countries of Indonesia, Thailand and Cambodia. South East Asia, a feature in the well trodden backpackers route, showed us the pleasures which can be gained in experiencing new cultures but also the amazing people you can meet along the way. Our first three months were spent island hopping through Thailand, temple visiting in Indonesia before making our way to Cambodia. Cambodia took us by surprise with its awesome temples and extremely friendly people. It was here in Cambodia we took a job in a bar and were welcomed by locals into their small community. We loved Cambodia and made such lovely friends, we were extremely sad to leave. Even though I had been hungry and my clothes were filthy and had not been washed properly for months, I was enjoying myself too much and was not ready to return home to normality. 

Image

    Borobudur, Yogyakarta, Indonesia

On returning home, I went in search for a job. I needed money if I was going to afford my next trip. My second big trip didn’t last as long as I had hoped..We still managed to visit; China, Laos, Vietnam, Northern Thailand and Malaysia. One thing we didn’t plan on was how expensive China would be, our poorly ( more my) budgeting left us flying home after three months nearly all out of money. Image

Pandas at the Giant Panda

On returning and deciding on my plan for the future I decided to attend university, something I had postponed for the last two years. Looking back on my travels, there are things I wish I had seen and places I still wish to see. South America is high up on my travel plans along with Japan and Africa. One thing my travels has taught me is that if you want something only you can make it happen… Which brings me on to my blog. I’m creating this blog as a way to communicate with my friends and family whilst I’m away but also to connect with like-minded people whilst sharing and learning through other’s experiences.

About charlottejohnson888

Travel enthusiast? Take your first step with me, Charlotte, whilst i research and explore new and exciting destinations. As a young backpacker experienced with travelling on a tight budget I am keen to gather first hand tales and discoveries on the year's hottest and must go countries.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

