Northern Lights

Hoping to see the Northern Lights this new year? Don’t make the same mistake I did.
Earlier this December I booked a short break to Iceland to witness the lights. Although I wasn’t lucky enough to catch a glimpse, I’m in fact slightly relieved.
Booking my Northern lights excursion through a Icelandic company on the web, I was misled and misinformed about the proceedings of the trip. From the description provided I was led to believe there would be trekking through deep snow off the beaten track, this belief was enforced through the photos and claims that we would be ‘hunting’ the Aurora Borealis.
The trip was led by gray line, a large tour company. The nightly excursion consisted of 11 large coaches driving 40 minutes outside of Reykjavik before stopping at a small restaurant. 2 hours is spent waiting and hoping in the cold for this miraculous event before the disappointing drive back to the city.
Although the proceedings of this excursion was nothing like I had hoped, it has given me ideas on how to go about trying to spot the Northern Lights next year.
Instead of booking through a tour company and taking a trip from the capital, consider staying at a hotel in the country who provide wake up calls if the lights appear. By spending a few nights at a hotel, you have more time and more chance to see this sight whilst allowing you to witness and experience the magnificent wonders found in the countryside.

About charlottejohnson888

Travel enthusiast? Take your first step with me, Charlotte, whilst i research and explore new and exciting destinations. As a young backpacker experienced with travelling on a tight budget I am keen to gather first hand tales and discoveries on the year's hottest and must go countries.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Northern Lights

  1. Good advice. I spend the summer in rural Alaska and in September we can usually spot the lights. I only need to walk about 300 meters from my cabin to get a good view and the key is spending much time in the area as you need some luck to get the right conditions.

Leave a Reply

